Monday, April 22, 2024

AGRA Opens Application for 2023 Women Agripreneurs Award and Grant

The Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA) has launched a call for applications for the 2023 Women Agripreneurs of the Year Awards (WAYA), aimed at recognizing the contribution of women to African food systems and encouraging more women to pursue careers in the agricultural sector.

The Vice President for Strategic Partnerships and Chief of Party for AGRA, Vanessa Adams, disclosed while speaking with journalists that the program will help shine a spotlight on women’s participation and recognition in the agriculture sector, which has been overlooked for too long.

WAYA is an AGRA-led female-focused award scheme; it was launched and implemented in 2021 to support and promote women’s agripreneurship in Africa under three categories; outstanding value-added enterprise, female agtech innovator, and young female agribusiness (rising star).

Olam Agri launches Academy to Empower Women

Adams noted that AGRA believes it’s important to recognize African female agripreneurs who are making a significant contribution to the agricultural value chains through their innovation, leadership, and entrepreneurship.

She disclosed that entries are to be submitted online until May 31, while explaining that to be eligible for the award, the business must be registered in a country that is a member state of the African Union, be operating in an agriculture or agribusiness value chain, and be at least 51 percent owned and managed by one or more women who are citizens of one of the 55 African countries.

Ikpeazu Calls for Continuation of LIFE-ND projects

According to her, the winning agripreneurs, will be unveiled during the 2023 AGRF Summit to receive a total of $85,000 in grant funding, and an overall grand prize winner will be determined as the candidate that demonstrates the best potential for scale.

More news

Related news